Passion for football

My love for football started when I began supporting Manchester United from the age of six years old. I became engulfed with the love for the game and admired many a player that wore the infamous red jersey. At this time, United were thriving and were having a glorious season under the leadership of Sir Alex Ferguson. I fell in love with the art of defending after seeing the glorious partnership of Nemanja Vidic and Rio Ferdinand flourish, which I will further research in my following post. I dreamed of being a defender from the age of six because of these two players. My own playing career started at the age of 10 with Clonmel Town FC, whom I played for for 2 seasons until I turned my attention to GAA instead as the squad numbers began to fall. I retained this love however for the years following and eventually returned playing in the summer of 2018 however not with the same team. I bravely and also boldly transferred to their neighbors Clonmel Celtic and jumped straight into the Junior “A” team.

This return however was a time plagued with injuries. In a game against Peake Villa FC on 28 September, playing under very poor conditions, I tore my Anterior Talofibular Ligament in my right ankle. As expected for anyone who knows my injury history, I managed to experience the same injury once again on the 21st December in training. What can I say, story of my life!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started